Tea for you and me

Join me on my epic quest to find the best tea ever

Bergs Konditori

Leave a comment

Hamngatan 9, 44030 Marstrand, Västra Götland, Sweden.

A view of the cake from inside the cafe

A view of the cake from inside the cafe

Marstrand is an island, one of the many islands that edge Sweden. It’s very near to the mainland but we still caught a ferry to get there. It’s beautiful. The coastline is very different from the UK as there is no craggy rocks, everything is smooth and round and looks like it should be soft.

Our hostess had talked about ‘Princess Cake’ which is a traditional Swedish cake. It has layers of cake, custard and cream with bright green marzipan on top. Not sure why it’s called Princess Cake but my Mum and I had to try some before we left Sweden. We were headed to Marstrand and our hostess told us that we could find Princess Cake at Bergs Konditori, which is why we sought it out. It was indeed there, though it had an unexpected layer of jam, which apparently a new trend and means it should be called something else which I’ve forgotten, not Princess Cake.

A view of the sea from outside the cafe

A view of the sea from outside the cafe

The cafe had outside seating but it was all full when we went in, so my first photo above is of the inside. I’ve put it on here so you can see the green-ness of the interior which I think reflects the cake well. After we ordered one of the tables became free so we moved outside. One of the trends in Sweden which I loved was that they loved sitting outside. The cold was not a problem, almost all of the cafes had piles of blankets by the door so you could wrap yourself up. My Mum and I sat on the bench looking at the view with fleece blankets over our knees.

The cake was superb, a bit like trifle in an odd way, but very light and creamy. We would call it a gateaux here. I ate mine and then felt sick, but it was so worth it. The tea was the worst I had while in Sweden. The tea was loose leaf and in an egg thing, but the water was in a coffee pot on a hob and wasn’t boiling. Was stewed and flat and ugh. Not good.

Teapot? No.
Leaf tea? Yes but horrid warm water.
Milk jug? No.
Price? 107 krona for 2 pieces of Princess cake, one tea and one coffee.
Cake? Yes, and buns and biscuits and anything else you can think of.
Go again? To the island but maybe not to this cafe.

Author: erinsboroughlass

I like tea and if possible, I'd like it to be loose leaf rooibos in a pot served with milk in a little jug. I'll try and find the places that do this and I'll tell you what they're like. Let me know if you can think of any cafes I haven't covered, I'll get to them if I can.

Leave a Reply

